Main Menu



Water & National Resources in Sudan
2014-04-01 14:20:55

Water & National Resources in Sudan

  The Renaissance Dam In 1904 a study was conducted by the United States Bureau of reclamation. The study identified 26 sites for constructing dams in Ethiopia. The most important site was the current Renaissance Dam project, which located on Alabaly River, the largest river in Ethiopia .  The incoming water was estimated by 25 billion cubic meters, the Dam is situated just about 20 km from the Sudanese border in Bani Shangol Region. In February 2011 the government of Ethiopia declared the start of the construction work of the Renaissance Dam on the Blue Nile for the purpose of ،...

Sudan and the United States of America
2014-02-19 00:00:00

Sudan and the United States of America

Statement of Shirley Christian, Business ManagerFrutarom, Inc., North Bergen, New JerseyTestimony Before the Subcommittee on Tradeof  the House Committee on Ways and MeansHearing on the Use and Effect of Unilateral Trade SanctionsMay 27, 1999Thank you Mr. Chairman and members of the Subcommittee for this opportunity to testify. My name is Shirley Christian. I am pleased to testify today on behalf of Frutarom, Inc. in my capacity as Business Manager of Frutarom Meer’s gum division. Frutarom is a leading processor and supplier of gum arabic in the world, and one of only three processors i،...

Sudan & South Sudan Relations
2014-02-13 00:00:00

Sudan & South Sudan Relations

Comprehensive Peace AgreementMEKELLE AgreementAgreement on Banking Agreement on Border Issues Agreement on Certain Economic MattersAgreement on Post Service Benefits Sudan&South  Agreement on Security Arrangements Agreement on trade Sudan &South Sudan Cooperation AgreementFramework Agreement on the Stuts of Nationals of the State Related Matters ،...

Report of the Committee On Handing over of Projects of Darfur Transitional Authority For the period 2007 – 2011
2014-02-05 00:00:00

Report of the Committee On Handing over of Projects of Darfur Transitional Authority For the period 2007 – 2011

Introduction Like other States of the Sudan, the State of the grate Darfur enjoy a number of development projects in the different fields of development, some of which are financed through the national development budget, such as the Road of Al Ingaaz Al Gharbi (Western salvation road), the Martyr Sabrah Airport, Abu Jabrah railroad, Neiala and El-Obied transport line – Al Foulah, Neiala - Al Fasher. Other projects are funded from States’ development budget, such as the project of water harvest, the project of States internal routes, the project of the Marrah Mountain (Jabal Marrah)- ،...

2014-02-05 00:00:00


Protocol between the Government of Sudan and SPLM/A on the Resolution of Abyei ConflictAbyei Area Referendum ACT 2009How the Abyei experts exceeded their mandate Arbitration Agreement between The Government of Sudan and The Sudan People’s Liberation Movement on Delimiting Abyei Area Agreement Of Temporary Arrangements For Administration And Security Of The Abyie Area.Agreement Between The Government of Sudan And The UN Concerning The Status of The UNISFA . AUHIP Proposals Towards a Resolution of The Issue of AbyeiAUHIP TFA Proposal Final Sudan Legal Note 27.12 LASTThe Republic of Sudan ،...

Home » Important Articles » Parliament

The Sudanese Parliament

  • 1910: The beginning of parliamentary experience in Sudan with the formation of the Governor-General Council during the Anglo-Egyptian Condominium era. It was tasked with the discussing and passing laws, regulation and orders issued by the Governor-General.
    1943: The Consultative Council of Northern Sudan (28 members):
    • Appointed by the Governor-General (sir. John Muffy) and consisted of tribal leaders, civil administration and religious scholars in northern Sudan. It was boycotted by the educated elite.
    1948 – 1953: The Legislative Assembly
    • The first legislative institution in Sudan, the assembly formed under legislation passed by the Governor-General, whose legislative authority at that time, along with the Executive Council, was above the authority of Legislative Assembly.
    • It had 79 members, consisting of tribal leaders and merchants who were chosen by appointment.
    • President of the Assembly: Mohamed Salih Al-Shingiti.
    • The Assembly passed a resolution by the Condominium to grant Sudan autonomy.
    1954: The first Sudanese Parliament
    • Formed according to The Sudan Agreement (November 13th 1953) with 97 seats.
    • Speaker: Mohamed Salih Al-Shingiti.
    •  The proposal for independence was introduced during this parliament and was passed unanimously on Monday, December 19th , 1955.
    1958: The Second Parliament
    • Consisted of the Senates (50 seats) and House of the Representatives (193) seats.
    •  Speaker: Dr. Amin Alsayyid.
    1963: The Central Council (During the era of the president/ Ibrahim Abboud)
    • Comprised of (82) seats: membership through (elections/ appointment)
    •  Speaker: Awad Abdurrahman Sagheer.
    1965: The First Constituent Assembly
    • (232) seats membership through elections( geographical/ gradate seats)
    •  Speaker: Mubarak Al-Fadil Shadad.
    •  Witnessed the presence of the first female Member of Parliament.
    1968: Second Constituent Assembly
    • (210) seats through direct elections
    •  Speaker: Dr. Mubarak Al-Fadil Shaddad.
    1973 – 1974 The First National People’s Council
    • 255 seats ( through geographical constituencies and quotas/ appointment)
    • Most important achievement: drafting the country’s permanent constitution.
    •  Council speaker: Professor Al-Nazeer Dafalla.
    1974 – 197: Second National People’s Council
    •  229 seats ( through elections and appointment)
    •  Council speaker: Al-Rasheed Al-Tahir Bakr.
    1978: The Third 1980: National People’s Council
    • Formed after the National reconciliation and with the participation of the other political parties
    •  Consisted of 229 seats
    •  Speaker: Abul-Gasim Mohamed Ibrahim.
    1980 – 1982: The Forth 1980: National People’s Council
    •  358 Seats (through election and appointment)
    •  Speaker: Abul-Gasim Hashim
    1986 – 1989: The Third Constituent Assembly
    • 301 seats, following the Jafar Nimieiri era (geographical constituencies and graduates lists)
    •  Assembly speaker: Mohamed Ibrahim Khalil.
    1996 – 1999: The First/ Second National Council
    •  425 seats (Membership through appointment and by position).
    • The first transitional legislative institution in the National Salvation government era
    • The first representative council to be transformed into an elected parliamentary entity
    •  Speaker: Ahmed Mohamed Al-Amin Khalifa.
    2000: The Third National Council
    • 360 seats(Membership through election and appointment in areas where holding elections proved to be difficult
    •  Speaker: Dr. Hassan Abdullah Al-Turabi.
    2005: The Forth National Council
    • Established in accordance with the Comprehensive Peace Agreement
    • 450 seats according to political party quotas as stipulated by the Comprehensive Peace Agreement.
    • Speaker: Ahmed Ibrahim Al-Tahir.
    2010: The National Council
    • 450 members elected by geographical constituencies and proportional representation (women/general)
    •  Witnessed for the first time the introduction of the proportional system and the adoption of quota system for women who account for 25% of parliament
    •  Speaker: Ahmed Ibrahim Al-Tahir
    •    Approved the results for the South Sudan referendum, where citizens of southern Sudan chose to be independent from the country. The structure of parliament was changed according to geographical constituencies and proportional representation attributed to the new population size, bringing the seat total to 354.  

    For More Information